The Islamic Republic of Pakistan emerged on the map of the world as an independent sovereign state on 14th August 1947, as a result of the division of the former British India. Located in South Asia, Pakistan shares an eastern border with India and a north-eastern border with China. Iran makes up the country’s south-west border, and Afghanistan runs along its western and northern edge. The Arabian Sea lies along Pakistan’s southern boundary.

The total population of Pakistan is 130.6 million (according to population census 1988). Pakistan is divided into four provinces; Sindh, Punjab, North West Frontier Province, and Balochistan. The country is comprised of a vast area that was a great center of ancient civilizations of the world. Its historical sites, beginning with stone-age to Twentieth Century A.D are a mirror of the life of its peoples who are by nature simple, virile, hospitable and hard working. Ancient sites excavated in Taxila, Harappa, and Mohenjodaro speak volumes about Pakistan’s rich cultural background, dating back to 3,000 B.C – with some sites such as Mehrgarh dating as far back as 8,000 BC.


Pakistan has a federal structure. Parliament consists of the Lower House (National Assembly) and the Upper House (Senate). Members of the National Assembly are directly elected and their term of office is five years. The National Assembly determines the major policy issues and passes an annual budget and legislation. It elects the Prime Minister from among its members.

The Prime Minister forms the cabinet from among members of the Assembly and the Senate. Provinces have their own elected legislative assemblies and Chief Ministers. The Provincial Assemblies elect the majority of the members of the Upper House.

Facts and Figures:

The national language is Urdu, while the official language is English. Some of the main regional languages include Sindhi, Baluchi, Punjabi and Pushto.

Pakistan has a Population of over 130 million. At present, the growth rate is 2.8 percent per annum. The major cities are Karachi (10 million),Lahore (5.5 million), Faisalabad (2 million), Rawalpindi (928,000), Islamabad (340,286). Other cities include Peshawar, Quetta, Rawalpindi, Hyderabad, Multan and Sialkot. Major religions are Muslim (97%), Hindu (1.5%), Christian (1%) and several other minorities.


Total Area: 796,095 Sq. Km

Punjab Province: 205,344 Sq. Km
Sindh Province: 140,914 Sq. Km
North West Frontier Province (NWFP): 74,521 Sq. Km
Balochistan Province: 347,190 Sq. Km
Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA): 27,220 Sq. Km
Islamabad (Capital): 906 Sq. Km

travel guide of Pakistan click here 
to view about schools in Pakistan click here

MuftPakistan.com Sign up for FREEUpdates.